Elliott News

Future Shock's hat-trick to Newcastle

18 Sep 2003

Fri, 25 Oct 2002 Ron Ellis Future Shock maintained her reputation as one of the fastest 55-footers in the world with a brilliant line, IRC and PHS hat-trick in the CYCAs Ocean Pointscore from Sydney to Newcastle last Saturday. Future Shock got the gun by a mere 27 seconds from the Volvo 60, Magnavox, having its first race for new owners Stan Zemanek, Julie Hodder, Peter Sorensen and Mark Grey. Designed by New Zealander Greg Elliott and launched in Auckland 1989, Future Shock set a race record for the Auckland to Noumea Race early in her career. She has been campaigned by various owners at the Kenwood Cup in Hawaii, in the double-handed Melbourne-Osaka and Brisbane-Osaka races, and in most races along the Australian East Coast, including the Sydney Hobart. Enjoying a mid-morning southerly front, Future Shock and Magnavox had a fast spinnaker run north, covering the 48 nautical miles in 5 hours 12 minutes.. Third to finish, 47 minutes astern, came Geoff Lavis UBS Wild Thing. On corrected time, Future Shock won the IRC Division from Magnavox and John Woodruffs Murray 50, The Dreamtime, while in the PHS Division, the Elliott 55 won from Magnavox and UBS Wild Thing. While big boats dominated the top three placings, the little Mumm 30, Team Tow Truck, skippered by Anthony Paterson, sailed an excellent race, placing fourth on corrected time in the IRC Division and fifth in the PHS Division. The IMS Division went to Howard and Susan Piggotts Beneteau 40.7, True North. Sixteen boats contested the PHS Division of the Ocean Pointscore race of which 12 also entered the IRC Division and only two the IMS Division, indicating the growing strength of IRC but also the interest in racing under PHS. As the Ocean Pointscore fleet was enjoying a fast sail direct to Newcastle, the fleet of 16 yachts contesting the 165 nautical mile Blue Water Pointscore and Long Ocean Pointscore to Newcastle via Cabbage Tree Island and Bird Islet were battling light winds after a torrid first night at sea. Sean Langmans Open 66, Grundig, eventually finished late Saturday afternoon with Rolex Sydney Hobart Race contenders Quest (Bob Steel) and Pippin (David Taylor) shared the top handicap honours in the Blue Water Pointscore (IMS), Cape Byron Series (IRC) and Tasman Performance Series (PHS). The CYCA was pleased with the initial response to the introduction of the Long Ocean Pointscore, with eight boats entering the Cabbage Tree Island-Bird Islet-Newcastle race. The LOPS is designed for owners who want to race in a long offshore pointscore without the commitment of the Sydney Hobart Race. Unfortunately, two boats were forced to retire in the heavy weather experienced on the first night at sea and three others retired when the wind died away on Saturday night. The Pittwater-based X-442, DeLight, skippered by Nick DeLaine, won the IRC and PHS Divisions on corrected time, with Warwick Shermans Cookson 39, Occasional Coarse Language, winning on IMS and placing second on IRC. Swish (Steven Proud) placed third on IRC and second on PHS. "We hope the LOPS series will attract more yachts keen to race offshore in races such as the Gold Coast and Mooloolaba events, but not committed this year to the challenge of the Rolex Sydney Hobart Race," Justine Kirkjian added.

By Peter Campbell