Elliott News

RPAYC wins Nespresso

19 Feb 2017

The Nespresso Youth International Match Racing Cup was won by the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club, NSW,Australia, for the first time since James Spithill took it home in 1999. The final day of the 2017 Nespresso Youth Match Racing Cup saw lead changes, upsets and the pressure got to some more than others. For those in the RNZYS members bar or listening from home they would have been treated to Cruising Yacht Club of Australia coach Jordan Reece and 7th placed skipper Thomas Grimes provided live commentary and insights to the day’s proceedings.
Finals day started with semi-finals. Top placed Will Boulden chose to race Will Eastman In the battle of the Wills, Eastman (RPNYC) took the first match against Boulden (RFBYC) after winning the pre-start, but Boulden took the following three matches to earn his place in the finals.The second set of trans-Tasman semi-finals saw Matt Hughes (RNZYS) competing against Malcolm Parker (RPAYC). While Hughes won all of the starts, Parker sailed well around the track and went on to win the semi-final 3 – 0. Petit-finals saw Eastman (RPNYC) beat Hughes (RNZYS) for third place.
In the all Australian final between Will Boulden (RFBYC) and Malcolm Parker (RPAYC) racing was incredibly tight. Boulden took the first race with Parker taking the next two. 2017 champion Parker, thanked his competitors and crew for the close regatta. “It was a tough final day, thanks to all my crew for getting me out of a few tricky situations”.
Race Officer Colin Lucas commented that the regatta “was a tough regatta to run. It was great to have the breeze that we had today and to be able to get through the semi-finals and finals.” Ben Fels, chief umpire for the week, was also “extremely pleased with the week. It was a great regatta, lots of tight racing. Some of these teams have a lot of potential and I’m very excited to see them at future events”.
Final Placings 1st Malcolm Parker 2nd William Boulden 3rd Will Eastman 4th Matthew Hughes 5th Tom Picot 6th Frankie Dair 7th Tom Grimes 8th Nick Rozenauers 9thCelia Willison 10thSarah Parker 11thJames Jennings 12thZoe Bennett 13thHenry Wilson